MediaInfo



Ingolstadt, 23 July 2007

Motorsport

Facts about the DTM race at Zandvoort

- Three Audi wins in the last five years
- Number of spectators almost doubled within six years
- Mattias Ekström most successful DTM driver at Zandvoort

Audi contests the seventh round of ten DTM races during the 2007 season at Zandvoort. Listed below are several interesting facts about the race on the North Sea cost.

AUDI AG Kommunikation 85045 Ingolstadt www.audi.com

Did you know that...

- ... the Dutch race in **Zandvoort** is the most traditional of the "new DTM" races held abroad? It has been organised since 2001?
- ... since then **six races** have been held?
- ... during this time the **number of spectators** has almost **doubled** from the original 40,000 to 78,500 last year? On average **62,583 fans per year** sat in the grandstands on the North Sea coast.
- ... the two manufacturers Audi and Mercedes involved in the DTM divide the six victories **equally between one another** and have won **every other** year there?
- ... including its three wins, Audi has claimed **eight podium finishes** since 2001 at Zandvoort?
- ... with **Mattias Ekström**, an Audi driver travels to Zandvoort as DTM championship leader for the fourth time after 2002 (Laurent Aiello), 2004 and 2005 (Mattias Ekström)?



MediaInfo

...the fastest-lap times have tumbled by almost **4.1 seconds** within six years even though the layout of the 4.307 kilometre track has never changed in this time?

... in the fight for pole position the initial lap times have been beaten by approximately **5.5 seconds**?

... Audi factory driver **Christian Abt** started from pole position when the DTM made its debut in the sand dunes in 2001?

... **Christian Abt** won the qualification race from team mate **Mattias Ekström** and was beaten by a mere 0.322 seconds in the main race by winner Uwe Alzen?

AUDI AG Kommunikation 85045 Ingolstadt www.audi.com

... today's Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline won the DTM title as private team with **Laurent Aiello** at the penultimate round at Zandvoort in 2002?

... Audi factory driver **Mattias Ekström** as winner of the races in 2002 and 2004 is the only DTM driver to have won more than once at Zandvoort?

... **Ekström** scored his first ever **DTM race win** at Zandvoort during the 2002 season?

... the Swede mounted the podium **four-times** in succession with Audi between 2002 and 2005 in the Netherlands?

... **Tom Kristensen** celebrated his third DTM victory at Zandvoort last year?

Communication Motorsport
Telephone +49 (0)841 89 34200, Telefax +49 (0)841 89 38617
E-Mail motorsport-media@audi.de

Photographs, sound bites and further information can be found in the Internet: www.audi-motorsport.info (accreditation required)